Mamata leads in Bhabanipur, Trinamool in the lead in 2 other seats as well

Early trends to come showed that the Trinamool Congress was leading in all three constituencies, including Bhabanipur where Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, who lost the Nandigram Assembly elections earlier this year, is against Priyanka. Tibrewal from BJP and CPI (M) Srijib Biswas.

Mamata will have to be elected to the Assembly to retain the chairmanship of the Chief Minister.

According to initial reports, Mamata Banerjee was in the lead with a margin of 2,800 votes after the end of the counting of the postal ballots.

In two other constituencies – Jangipur and Samserganj – both located in Murshidabad district, Trinamool’s congressional candidates maintained their lead. Jakir Hossain, who is running for the Assembly constituency of Jangipur, also led by a margin of 1,300 votes after the first round of counting. A candidate for the Trinamool Congress in Samserganj, Amirul Islam was also in the lead.

Speaking to the media, State Transport Minister Firhad Hakim, who was in charge of the assembly constituency of Bhabanipur, told the media that the chief minister would win by a margin of 70,000 to 80,000 votes. “She will win with a record margin,” Hakim said.

On the other hand, BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal said: “The people have given their votes and now, if everything continues in a fair way, there is no doubt that I will win.”

CPI (M) candidate opposed Banerjee, Srijib Biswas said, “The election results make no difference to us. We don’t play politics one day. We stay with people all year round ”.

Strict security measures have been taken at all counting centers in the state. In total, 24 companies of the central forces were deployed in the counting centers, and the entire area placed under CCTV surveillance. Officials were only allowed one pen and paper and only the returning officer and observer are allowed to use phones, the officials informed.

Eight CCTV cameras have been installed in the EVM vault and the results will be announced after 21 rounds of counting.

Banning orders under Article 144 of the CrPC were imposed within 200 meters of counting centers in the three constituencies that went to the polls on September 30.

Candidates and their agents, who have both received doses of the Covid-19 vaccine or have tested negative for infection, will be allowed to enter counting places, the election commission official said.

All officials and agents have been urged to comply with Covid-19 protocols, he said.

Over 57 percent of the votes were cast in Bhabanipur.

High voting rates of 79.92 percent and 77.63 percent were recorded in Samserganj and Jangipur, respectively.


sbg / dpb

(Only the title and image of this report may have been reworked by Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is automatically generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear reader,

Business Standard has always strived to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that matter to you and have broader political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering has only strengthened our resolve and commitment to these ideals. Even in these difficult times resulting from Covid-19, we remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and cutting-edge commentary on relevant current issues.
However, we have a demand.

As we fight the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more so that we can continue to provide you with more quality content. Our subscription model has received an encouraging response from many of you who have subscribed to our online content. More subscriptions to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of providing you with even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practice the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital editor